Claremont High School Academy



Computing / ICT 

Welcome to Claremont High School Academy's Computing/ICT Department webpage. The way ICT is taught in schools has changed. Computer science is going to become part of the English Baccalaureate (EBacc) to give young people a better understanding of computer programming and computing solutions. Computing is of enormous importance to the economy, and the role of Computer Science as a discipline itself and as an ‘underpinning’ subject across science and engineering is growing rapidly. Computer technology continues to advance rapidly and the way that technology is consumed has also been changing at a fast pace over recent years. Claremont High School Academy is successfully delivering this new Computing curriculum outlined by the Government in its recent consultation on curriculum change.   

The Computing / ICT department at Claremont focuses delivering lessons which are allowing us to develop and extend our students knowledge in Computing and ICT. Our curriculum consists of a mixture of Computing and IT including Programming, web-design, spreadsheets, word processing, databases, desk-top publishing, and how to stay safe online. The Computing/ICT department comprises of 4 specialist teaching rooms, containing 30 Student Desktop PCs in each room.  


The Computing / ICT at Claremont is a well established department offering Computing / ICT toallstudents at KS3, KS4 and KS5.  The subject specialist Computing/ICT teachers in the department, are committed, enthusiastic and dedicated to providing all students with the opportunity to excel in the Computing/ICT curriculum. As a result our GCSE and BTEC ICT level 3 achievements and Attainments continue to grow and our sixth form (KS5) classes continue to grow year after year. 



Key Stage 3 

  • Computing at KS3 is taught by using Scratch and Python applications in which they make their own computer programs. 
  • Pupils are also working on various projects such as designing a computer network, financial modelling using spreadsheets and using Computer Aided Design tools.
  • Year 8’s get to choose Computer Science as an option for Year 9, which is recommended for those learners wanting to go on to study Computer Science GCSE.
  • Use the links below to see the KS3 course in more detail.

Year 7 Scheme of Work

Year 8 Scheme of Work

Year 9 Scheme of Work


Key Stage 4 (OCR) 

GCSE Computer Science (OCR exam board) 

  • The course consists of a controlled assessment project and 2 exams. The course has recently changed and will be awarded 1-9.
  • Year 10 will develop the programming skills required for the NEA - Non Exam Assessment in year 11 while learning theory for the Computational thinking, algorithms and programming exam which makes up 50% of the course
  • Year 11 will complete the NEA at the start of the year.  Once complete the learners will cover theory for the Computer systems exam (50% of the course). 

GCSE Scheme of Work

GCSE Computer Science (OCR) Specification


 Key Stage 5

Level 3 BTEC IT (Edexcel exam board). This course has recently been updated to the new BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology.

  • This course is assessed by 42% coursework and 58% examination.
  • In Year 12 learners will complete Unit 1 - Information Technology Systems which will take 120 hours of learning and require an exam at the end of the year.  The learners will also complete Unit 3 Using Social Media in Business which will require learners to create their own social media marketing campaign.
  • In Year 13 learners will learn the theory and skills required to complete Unit 2 Creating Systems to Manage Information and then complete the practical exam in June.  They will also complete Unit 6 Website development coursework unit.  All learners will have the opportunity to resit the Unit 1 exam in Year 13.
  • The BTEC Level 3 Nationals in IT are recognised and respected by employers, professional institutions and higher education establishments alike. 

Level 3 BTEC IT Scheme of Work:The course is delivered by 2 teachers who deliver different course units; Teacher 1, Teacher 2.

BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate in Information Technology Specification


A Level Computer Science (OCR exam board). We are now offering A Level Computer Science. 

  • This course is assessed by 20% coursework project and 80% examination.
  • The course is delivered by 2 members of staff so learners will learn Component 1 Computer Systems theory in one class while learning programming techniques in Component 2 (Algorithms and Programming). 
  • In Year 13 learners will start the NEA Programming Project Component 03 where they will need to use the systems lifecycle to create a software to solve a problem. Learners will also continue to learn and revise theory from Component 1 and 2.
  • The final exams will be at the end of Year 13.
  • The A Level Computer Science course is a highly technical course that is valued by employers and higher education providers.  It is a great way of furthering and interest in the field and adding valuable skills that can be applied to many industries.

A Level Scheme of Work

A Level Computer Science (OCR) Specification

Thanks for the taking the time to visit the Computer Science/ICT Department web page.